So today I thought I would talk about my book journal! I just started it in the new year. Perfect timing for starting my book blog!

So let’s start with what type of journal I have.

My Journal

image2-1

This is a Leuchtturm 1917 lined notebook. I believe that the cover with the Dragon thing was a special summer edition, so you sadly can’t get this exact cover anymore. I got mine off of gouletpens.com. They have a great site where you can get a ton of types of notebooks and fountain pen stuff! That’s also where you can get the fountain pen you see in the photo, a Pilot Metropolitan in the Retro Pop collection. Oh, did I mention the pages are gilded gold too? They’re gorgeous!

My Setup

image3-1

This is my table of contents! This is probably one of the best features of this notebook. All the pages are individually numbered, and there are 3 pages for your table of contents. The hardest part for me is actually keeping up with updating my table of contents!

image4

This is just an example of some of the things I keep in my journal. Lists allow me to keep track of what I want to read or keep up with. Mostly it is strictly bookish things, but as you can see some TV shows I want to keep up with are added into my 2017 goals. I almost have more TV shows than books I’m in anticipation for this year!

image1-2

This is an example of one of my bookish thoughts pages. They’re mainly a jumble of random musings I have while reading, but they can be super helpful when writing reviews. I have a hard time writing things down when I am super into a book, and I find myself being taken out of the flow of a story sometimes if I take notes while reading, so sometimes I only write notes after a reading session. This also helps me not write down EVERY single thought I have, this is especially nice to do when I have to sift through it later to write a review!

Why I Keep A Book Journal & Tips

Honestly I just started it because I wasn’t sure what to do with this journal I got for Christmas! But it quickly turned into something fun I can use to keep track of my reading and plan things for blog posts and general bookish thoughts. If you are thinking of starting a book journal, I highly recommend getting a journal that looks nice. It’s not a requirement at all, but I find myself more motivated to write when I have an aesthetically pleasing journal and pen. The journal I have is a little pricey, but it is fountain pen friendly, which is mainly why I use it. It’s about $20(more for the special editions usually) for this journal, but it is a very good quality journal, so personally I find it worth it.

A book journal should be fun and a great way to express yourself! Don’t limit yourself either. If you want to include personal journal entries or other doodles, go for it! The great thing about it is that it is personal, and there are no guidelines for starting one.

I hope this was interesting and maybe motivated you to start a book journal! Thanks for reading and have an awesome day!

 

Leave a Reply

