2016 was an AMAZING year for releases, and 2017 looks even more promising! I have 10 books that I am eagerly anticipating so let’s get into it!


Image result for windwitch

Windwitch by Susan Dennard-  January 10th

I’ve actually already started this book! It came out this week, and it is the sequel to the fantasy book Truthwitch, which I read a couple months ago. I fell in love with this world and the characters in the first book, so I can’t wait to dive back into it! I have found that I’ve forgotten a TON of stuff from the first book, but I think I’m just gonna keep reading and see how it goes.


Image result for history is all you left me

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera- January 17th

As far as I know: This is a story of Griffin, who’s ex-boyfriend Theo has recently passed away. Despite the fact that they had broken up, Griffin had always thought they would get back together. And now the only person who can understand how Griffin feels is Theo’s most recent boyfriend, Jackson.

I’ve never read an Adam Silvera book, so hopefully this gives me a good first impression! Contemporary may not be my go-to genre, but I am always on the lookout for new lgbt+ books. This is super hyped up so much so I’m really excited for this. I think it follows the ‘past’ and ‘present’ timelines of Griffin too.


Image result for caraval stephanie garber

Caraval by Stephanie Garber- January 31st

I don’t really know much about this one except that it has been compared to The Night Circus, is about two sisters, and it has a gorgeous cover! So I assume there is a magical show/circus and plenty of mystery!


Image result for The song rising

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon- March 7th

So first of all, thank GOD they released the collector’s edition with the original cover theme. The new covers are ugly af in my opinion(if you like them then awesome! You can save more money than I did!) This is the third book in The Bone Season series. This is a dystopian/fantasy series and it is SUPER awesome. I did like the second book more than the first(it was on my favs of 2016 list), so if you didn’t like the first book, give the second a try?


Image result for dragonwatch by brandon mull

Dragonwatch by Brandon Mull- March 7th

YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW EXCITED I AM FOR THIS BOOK! I’VE BEEN READY FOR LIKE 8 YEARS. So this is a sequel series to Brandon Mull’s middle grade series Fablehaven. This was a series I read in elementary school, avidly awaiting the release of the last three books. It was about two siblings who spend the summer with their grandparents on their estate, which turns out to be a sanctuary for magical creatures! They are super fun books, and I can’t wait to reread them before this comes out! I’ve read 2 of Brandon Mull’s other books, and I enjoyed them(especially the Candy Shop War. Was there a sequel to that??), but neither were as good as Fablehaven, so let’s hope this is as amazing as I’m hoping!!!


Image result for The dark prophecy goodreads

The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan- May 2nd

  1. I love Rick Riordan’s books.
  2. I didn’t love The Hidden Oracle

So naturally I am anticipating this to find out if it, hopefully, improves from THO! Trials of Apollo takes place after PJO and HoO, so you have to read those first! And I recommend Magnus Chase because I feel like those storylines might intersect in the third Magnus Chase(which is also highly anticipated!) book a tiny bit.I would just read all of Rick Riordan’s books in publication order really.


Image result for a court of wings and ruin

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas- May 2

Damn, March 7 and May 2 are busy days! So tbh the only reason this is on my list instead of ToG6 is that this has a title soooooooo… yeah! I am very excited for this though! This is the third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy and it is EPIC. It’s a high-fantasy story with fae, magic, and badassery. The world and characters are stunning and I can’t wait to see how it all ends! We haven’t seen a finale from SJM yet so this is VERY exciting.


Image result for Lord of Shadows goodreads

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare- May 23rd

Lady Midnight was one of my favorite books of 2016 so naturally the sequel is on this list! This is the second book in The Dark Artifices trilogy, which takes place after The Mortal Instruments. Cassandra Clare struck again with amazing characters and action. I can’t wait for this, but it’s gonna be hard waiting two years for the finale after this!


Image result for Our Dark Duet

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab- June 13th

This Savage Song was quite a surprising favorite last year, but a welcome one! It was my first Victoria Schwab book and I adored her writing and the world. TSS is about a city torn apart by two sides, made more complicated by monsters joining either side. The concept of monsters was utterly original and I really enjoyed our two main characters. This is the finale of the duology I believe so there are lots of expectations for this one!


Image result for Now I Rise

Now I Rise by Kierstan White- June 27th

The farthest away in this list, but I will wait as long as I have to to get this book! This is the sequel to And I Darken, a historical retelling of Vlad the Impaler, if he were a girl named Lada. I adored the writing in that, as well as the characters of Lada and her brother, Radu. It was political and violent and everything I want in a story. So I am very excited for this to come out, it’ll be like a slightly-late birthday gift for me!


That’s it! My most anticipated releases of 2017. There are definitely more I am wanting, but these are the main ones! What releases are your most anticipated? Thanks for reading and have an awesome day!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

